Contemplating in Columbus

The following is a letter we received from a faithful blog reader…

Dear X-ATI Girl,

This past weekend I attended a wedding shower with my mother and my cousin Susanna.  Susanna is two years older than I (I am 17) and although she does not homeschool and is not a part of ATI, Susanna and I have been friends all of our lives.  She lives out of state and has been visiting my family for the past week.  I dread the day when Susanna will have to return to college.

The 18-year-old bride is a friend of mine, but Susanna had never met her before the shower.  The party was extraordinarily boring.  I’m not sure if it’s because everything paled in comparison to Susanna’s comments, or if this was just a real doozy, but it was awful.  Everyone stood close to the perimeter of the room, spoke in very soft tones, and the only subject seemed to be of wonderful courtship stories.  I had never realized before Sunday just how odd this was, but Susanna made me see it through a whole new light.

The whole room was a jumble of photos of the bride, the groom, their families, and the happy couple.  The first photo we got close enough to see had a pretty standard Bible verse printed across the top: “And God took a rib from the man, and created a woman and brought her to him.”  A little bit odd maybe, but it’s all stuff I’ve heard before now.  There was one close-up, though, that really caught Susanna’s eye.  In this Polaroid, the bride’s hand rested tenderly on the groom-to-be’s chest, and written above the groom’s head, bold black text proclaimed:

I have found my rib!

After seeing these pictures through new eyes…is that creepy, or is it just me?

Thank you for your sound advice.

Contemplating in Columbus

3 Responses to “Contemplating in Columbus”

  1. Brandin Burns Says:

    You can call a woman by many names; rib, b**ch, “hey you bring me a beer”, however a relationship should be about respect and teamwork. Not replacing a missing part or finding someone to fulfill your inadequacies.

    It is interesting to me to have grown up with that mindset (was asked to commit to courtship at 11 years old) and now to see things from an older perspective. I can understand why so many parents think courtship is benificial (notice I said understand, not agree), it just isn’t practical. If I had married my first girlfriend, I would have had horrible relationships habits because I never had a chance to

  2. Brandin Burns Says:

    truly learn how to function with someone else or even how to treat a partner with balance.

    There must be a balance between screwing everything that moves and not understanding the dynamics of a healthy relationship. How do you walk that line? A parent will only set their child up for failure if they use any extreme… and this is an example of an extreme.

    At 18 you don’t know who you are or what you want (esp people with less life experiance). Will she realize her rib is really an ass 10 years down the line? Then what?

  3. Shannon Says:

    Umm, I think *technically* he should have had his hand placed gently on *her* chest. Right? I mean, he’s the one who Lost the rib. Either she’s wearing it over her heart, or she’s just plain a walking rib. Just sayin’ is all :-P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

